Topic time estimate: 5 Minutes

Resilient Change Leaders move swiftly through their individual change process by maintaining motivation over time with passion and persistence. A resilient change leader has mastered self-motivation. Being resilient in change means that over time and after being knocked back you are able to reignite your motivation.

Prosci’s ADKAR model describes individual change in 5 sequential steps:

  1. Awareness of the need for change
  2. Desire to change
  3. Knowledge of how to change
  4. Ability to demonstrate the skills and behaviours needed to change
  5. Reinforcement to make the changes stick

Barrier points

Without uplifting your awareness, you cannot desire, without desire you don’t want to know how to be successful in the change let alone develop the ability to successfully change. If you have a barrier point, you cannot complete your individual change. Desire is the most difficult barrier point to influence and overcome. Because people constantly reassess their motivation, whenever more uncertainty or obstacles arise.

Being resilient in change means that you are able to move past the barrier point of desire and motivate yourself to learn about what needs to be done in order to succeed in change. And because you are able to advance your individual change progress, you are now able to help and lead others through their ADKAR steps.

Watch these three short videos to learn more

The ADKAR individual change model from Prosci in a nutshell
What is a barrier point?
Desire as the second building block of individual change
Scroll to Top